They’re Real! Mascara by Benefit


Product: They’re Real Mascara by Benefit

mascara2

This is what the Benefit website claims this mascara will accomplish:

They’re real! lengthens, curls, volumizes, lifts & separates. Our jet black, long-wearing formula won’t smudge or dry out. A specially designed brush reveals lashes you never knew you had!

What else you need to know:

94% saw dramatic length & volume*

90% saw base-to-tip curl*

94% saw visible lift*

100% saw long-wearing results*

*Results observed in a consumer panel survey

My eyelashes are sparse and thinning more with each passing year. It is just one more depressing thing about getting old (grumble grumble). Because of this, I am constantly on the look out for a great mascara. And, subsequently, I am constantly disappointed.

I was excited to try this one because let’s face it…I need all of those qualities in a mascara. I bought a sample size at Ulta because the full size is approximately $23 and I would rather not spend that kind of money without trying a product first.

Basic black color.

This mascara DOES give the illusion of fake lashes – bad and cheap fake lashes, however. It does seem to curl the lashes a bit and they do look thicker and fuller. But it is just too clumpy for me. I really like to be as natural as possible – well, as natural as I can be wearing a shit load of war paint. I am just not into that whole drag queen look since I will not be belting anything out on stage any time soon.

This mascara is DEFINITELY long wearing. It takes days to get it all off – seriously shit is like cement. But I usually wear waterproof anyway because I often get watery (sometimes like a faucet) eyes due to allergies. So, this isn’t a huge deal to me.

I really think it would be a great product if they could just somehow make it less clumpy. I just cannot stand the clump. I am always running from the clump. Because of that, I cannot give this a ringing endorsement and will remain on my quest.

I give this product 1 1/2 out of 5 smooches.

1_5 Smooch

****************************************

I have been considering doing some of my reviews via video. So I kind of did a practice one with this review. It’s awful, I know. I smack my mouth and say ummm way too much. Plus my webcam and the lighting is really bad. Maybe with a new cam and some practice I can improve.

Also, please know how ballsy I am being by showing the world what I look like with no eye makeup. I never leave the house without it because I think I look weird and sickly. But here goes nothin’….

4 thoughts on “They’re Real! Mascara by Benefit

Say What?

